Best Solar Generators: How to Choose the Right One

Published October 15, 2026 · Last updated October 15, 2026

Solar generator with folding solar panels

A solar generator is a power station with an inverter and outlets, charged by solar panels, and it has no engine. The right size depends on two numbers: the watt-hours it stores and the watts it delivers at once. In our list, units run from 288 Wh to 5,040 Wh, and from 300 W to 7,200 W. A 288 Wh unit covers phones and a laptop, a 2,000 Wh unit covers a fridge for most of a day and a 5,000 Wh unit covers about two days of a small must-run load. This guide explains how to choose, how to size panels and which models from our list fit which job.

We built this page from official product pages and a few solar guides. We did not test any unit, and we list no prices, because they change often. So every figure here comes from the manufacturers or from simple math you can repeat, and we say where a page left a number open.

What a solar generator is, and what it is not

The term causes confusion. A solar generator does not generate power from fuel. It stores energy in a battery, and solar panels refill that battery. The same box can also charge from a wall outlet or a car port. Our explainer on portable power stations covers the parts in detail.

There are two ways to buy one.

  • A kit. The power station and the panels come together. The Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2 is an example, and its default bundle includes two SolarSaga 200 W panels.
  • Separate parts. You buy a power station and add panels later. This gives you more choice, but you must match the connectors. Our solar panel connectors guide explains how.

However, there are two things a solar generator is not. It is not a way to run a whole house, and it is not a fix for rooftop panels in a blackout. Aurora Solar says a grid-tied rooftop system stops delivering electricity to your home when the grid goes down, to protect line workers. So a home with rooftop solar still needs a battery or a portable setup.

The four numbers that decide everything

Most spec sheets look alike, but four numbers do the work.

  1. Capacity, in watt-hours. It is the size of the tank. More watt-hours means more runtime.
  2. Output, in watts. It is the size of the pipe. It sets which appliances can run, and how many at once.
  3. Surge rating. A short burst above the rated output, such as when a compressor starts.
  4. Solar input. The most power the unit accepts from panels. Check this before you buy panels.

Also, because the solar input varies by model and the pages we collected do not always list it, we do not compare it here. Read each page before you choose panels.

How we compared these units

We started from the official product page of each model and copied capacity, output, weight, battery type and warranty into a table. When a page gave two different values, we used the spec table and said so, or we left the number open. We did not test runtimes, charging speed or noise, and we have no lab data. So treat this page as a spec comparison with sizing math, not as a review.

That choice also shapes the title. "Best" here means the model whose specs fit a given job on paper, and the right pick depends on your loads.

Models from our list

Here are seven units from our product list, from small to large.

Model Capacity Output (rated / surge) Weight Battery
Jackery Explorer 300 v2 288 Wh 300 / 600 W 8.16 lb LiFePO4
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 1,070 Wh 1,500 / 3,000 W 23.8 lb LiFePO4
Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2 2,042 Wh 2,200 / 4,400 W 39.5 lb LiFePO4
Bluetti Elite 200 V2 2,073.6 Wh 2,600 W 53.4 lb LiFePO4
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus 3,072 Wh 3,600 / 7,200 W To be confirmed LFP
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus 3,840 Wh 6,000 W combined 136.7 lb LFP
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus 5,040 Wh 7,200 / 14,400 W 134.5 lb LiFePO4

First, a few notes on the open points. The Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2 specs are for the power station, not the panels. The EcoFlow surge figure appears on one page only, and its weight and warranty are still to be confirmed. The Anker 6,000 W figure is a combined 120/240 V total, with 120 V outlets at 2,400 W maximum, and the EcoFlow page lists expansion from 3 to 11 kWh. The Bluetti page does not list a surge rating in the data we collected.

Warranty terms we could confirm are 3+2 years for the Jackery 2000 v2 and 1000 v2, and 5 years for the Jackery 5000 Plus, the Anker F3800 Plus and the Bluetti Elite 200 V2.

Battery chemistry in one paragraph

Most units in our list use lithium iron phosphate cells, called LiFePO4 or LFP. Goal Zero, a power station maker, says LFP batteries have a higher thermal runaway temperature threshold than NMC cells, and says its newest LFP product has a cycle count over 4,000 and keeps about 80% of its capacity after that. These are the company's own claims, not independent tests. The same post says NMC has higher energy density, so such a unit can be lighter for the same capacity. So chemistry trades weight, lifespan and safety, and you should check the page of the unit you like.

Ports and outlets

Ports tell you what you can plug in. Here is what the pages list for the larger units.

  • Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2: 3 AC 120 V outlets, two USB-C (30 W and 100 W max), one USB-A at 18 W and a 12 V car port.
  • Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus: four 120 V 20 A outlets, one 120/240 V 30 A NEMA L14-30R outlet, two USB-C at 100 W, two USB-A at 18 W and a car port.
  • Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus: NEMA TT-30R, L14-30R and 5-20R outlets in two groups, a USB-A at 12 W, a USB-C at 100 W and a car port. The page does not itemize the port counts.
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus: a TT-30R AC output at 3,600 W, an Anderson DC port at 378 W, a car outlet at 126 W (shared) and a USB-C at 140 W.

So only some units offer 120/240 V or a TT-30 outlet. If you plan to power an RV connection or a larger appliance, check the plug type before you buy. All outlets on a unit share one rated output, so your combined load must stay under it.

How to size a solar generator in three steps

Step 1: add up your daily watt-hours

List what you want to run and how long. Multiply watts by hours for each item. Here is a made-up example, so swap in your own numbers.

Load Watt-hours per day
Refrigerator about 1,100
Chest freezer about 590
Wi-Fi router, 10 W all day 240
Four LED lights, five hours 200
Total about 2,130

Our freezer wattage guide and battery backup for refrigerator guide explain how to find the real figures.

Step 2: choose a battery size

A power station loses some energy converting battery power to household AC, and we count on about 85% of rated capacity as a planning rule. That is our rule of thumb, not a manufacturer spec. Divide the usable energy by your daily use to get days of runtime with no sun at all.

Model Usable (85%) Days at 2,130 Wh a day
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 About 910 Wh About 0.4
Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2 About 1,735 Wh About 0.8
Bluetti Elite 200 V2 About 1,763 Wh About 0.8
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus About 2,611 Wh About 1.2
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus About 3,264 Wh About 1.5
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus About 4,284 Wh About 2.0

Overall, the honest picture is simple. Even the largest portable unit covers about two days of this small load without sun. Panels, however, extend that.

Step 3: size the panels

Panels never make their rated watts all day. A 200 W panel in four hours of strong sun makes at most 800 Wh. After losses, plan on about 75% of that, or 600 Wh. That is our rule of thumb as well.

Next, divide your daily use by 600. For 2,130 Wh, that is about 3.6, so plan on four 200 W panels, or 800 W in total. The Renogy E.Flex 200W N-Type Portable Solar Panel weighs 13.89 lb, so four of them add about 56 lb. Our 200 watt solar panel guide explains the method, and our solar battery backup guide shows the full worked example.

For a smaller setup, however, two Jackery panels make a lighter kit. The SolarSaga 100 Light weighs 4.5 lb and the SolarSaga 100W weighs 7.94 lb, according to Jackery's own blog pages, so confidence is lower than for a product page.

A worked example: a camping weekend

Say you carry two phones, a laptop and a light. Here are made-up numbers, so check your own devices.

Load Calculation Watt-hours per day
Two phones About 15 Wh each About 30
Laptop, three hours 60 W times 3 180
Light, four hours 10 W times 4 40
Total about 250

The Jackery Explorer 300 v2 holds 288 Wh, or about 245 usable Wh by our rule. So it covers about one day. A single 100 W panel makes about 300 Wh on a strong sun day by our rule of thumb. That is just above the daily use, so the unit could last the weekend if the weather helps. If the weather is poor, you start the next day with less in the tank.

Which solar generator for which use

Phones, a laptop and a light

A 288 Wh unit covers it. The Jackery Explorer 300 v2 lists 300 W and weighs 8.16 lb. With one 100 W panel, which gives about 300 Wh on a good sun day by our rule, it can refill in about one day. For a trip, see our camping power station guide. If you only need a phone top-up, read our solar power bank guide first.

A refrigerator and a router for a night or two

You need about 1,000 to 2,000 Wh. The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 holds 1,070 Wh and the Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2 holds 2,042 Wh. Our 1,000 watt power station guide compares five units in the 1,000 Wh class.

A home outage of a day or more

You need more energy and more output. The EcoFlow, Anker and Jackery 5000 Plus units list 3,072 to 5,040 Wh. Our guide to the best home emergency generator compares every route, our solar generator for home guide shows what each can and cannot do, and our home battery backup guide compares them with an installed battery.

An RV, a van or a camper

Add panels and size the battery for your daily watt-hours. Our RV solar panels guide shows how to size panels, battery and controller.

Off-grid or a cabin

Add more panels and consider a larger or expandable battery. Our off-grid solar system guide explains the parts, and our DIY solar battery bank guide covers the risks of building your own.

An apartment or a balcony

A battery unit makes no exhaust, so it suits small spaces. Our apartment backup guide covers the limits. Some states also allow plug-in balcony solar, which works differently. Our plug-in solar guide explains the law as of October 2026.

Solar generator or gas generator?

A gas generator runs as long as you add fuel, and it must run outdoors. A solar generator is silent and has no exhaust, but it stops when the battery is empty. In long outages with heavy loads, a gas unit may fit better. In short outages, small spaces and quiet places, a solar generator fits better. Our solar vs gas generator comparison goes through both, and our guide to portable gas generators covers the other side. Many people choose both: a battery for the quiet hours and a gas unit for a long storm.

How long does charging take?

To estimate charging time, divide the battery's watt-hours by the panel's daily output. For a 1,070 Wh unit and a 200 W panel, which gives about 600 Wh a day by our rule, charging from empty takes close to two good sun days. With two panels, it takes about one. Clouds, shade, panel angle and heat change the result, and the unit's own solar input limit caps it. Plan for a slower rate than the label suggests.

Care, storage and safety

The pages we collected give no care schedule, so follow the manual of the unit you buy. In general, keep it dry and away from heat, charge it before a storm and check it from time to time if it sits unused. Because a battery unit has no exhaust, it can sit indoors in a way a gas generator cannot, but follow the maker's advice on placement. Also keep cables and panel connectors dry, since a wet or damaged connector can stop charging.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying on capacity alone. A big battery with low output cannot start a motor.
  • Counting panel watts as daily energy. A 200 W panel makes about 600 Wh a day by our rule, not 200 W all day.
  • Ignoring conversion losses. Plan on about 85% of the rated capacity.
  • Skipping the connector check. Panels and stations must match, and the wrong plug can stop the whole setup.
  • Forgetting the surge. A compressor may need far more than its running watts.
  • Expecting a whole house. A portable unit covers a short list of loads.
  • Trusting one spec line. Compare the table on the page with its description.

Checklist before you buy

  1. Daily watt-hours. Add up your loads first.
  2. Capacity and output. Cover both the energy and the watts.
  3. Surge. Cover your largest motor.
  4. Solar input. Check the limit and the connector.
  5. Weight. A 134.5 lb unit stays in one place.
  6. Warranty. Read the terms, and note where a page leaves it to be confirmed.
  7. Real prices. Check the current retailer page, because we list none.

The bottom line

The best solar generator is the one sized to your loads. Add up your daily watt-hours, pick a unit whose usable capacity covers a day or two, check that its output covers your surge, then size the panels with the 75% rule. For small trips, a 288 Wh unit is enough. For a home outage, plan on 3,000 Wh or more, and keep a gas generator in mind for long storms.

Prices and availability change often, so check the retailer page before you decide.

Top picks

  • Jackery Explorer 300 v2

    Jackery · power station

    Explorer 300 v2

    • Capacity288 Wh
    • Output300 W
    • Weight8.16 lb

    Best for: Small loads such as phones, laptops and a camping light

    Limitation: Rated output is 300 W, so it cannot run larger appliances

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    288 Wh
    Rated output
    300 W
    Surge output
    600 W surge
    Weight
    8.16 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LiFePO4
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    1 AC output (300 W), 1 USB-C 100 W max, 1 USB-C 15 W max, 1 USB-A 15 W max, 12 V/10 A car port
    Warranty
    3+2 years
  • Jackery Explorer 1000 v2

    Jackery · power station

    Explorer 1000 v2

    • Capacity1,070 Wh
    • Output1,500 W
    • Weight23.8 lb

    Best for: Short outages for a refrigerator or a few devices, and car camping

    Limitation: 1,500 W rated output limits it to one or two mid-size appliances at a time

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    1,070 Wh
    Rated output
    1,500 W
    Surge output
    3,000 W surge
    Weight
    23.8 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LiFePO4
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    3 AC 120 V, 2 USB-C (30 W max and 100 W max), 1 USB-A 18 W, 12 V/10 A car port
    Warranty
    3+2 years
  • Jackery Solar Generator 2000 v2

    Jackery · solar generator

    Solar Generator 2000 v2

    • Capacity2,042 Wh
    • Output2,200 W
    • Weight39.5 lb

    Best for: A ready-made kit with solar panels for off-grid use

    Limitation: Specs listed are for the power station only, not the panels

    All specs
    Type
    solar generator
    Capacity
    2,042 Wh
    Rated output
    2,200 W
    Surge output
    4,400 W surge
    Weight
    39.5 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LiFePO4
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    Same as Explorer 2000 v2
    Warranty
    3+2 years
  • Bluetti Elite 200 V2

    Bluetti · power station

    Elite 200 V2

    • Capacity2,073.6 Wh
    • Output2,600 W
    • Weight53.4 lb

    Best for: Longer outages and larger loads

    Limitation: At 53.4 lb it is heavy

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    2,073.6 Wh
    Rated output
    2,600 W
    Surge output
    To be confirmed
    Weight
    53.4 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LiFePO4
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    AC 2,600 W total at 120 V / 21.6 A; car input 96 W (12 V) or 192 W (24 V); other port counts not stated
    Warranty
    5 years
  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus

    EcoFlow · power station

    DELTA 3 Ultra Plus

    • Capacity3,072 Wh
    • Output3,600 W
    • WeightTo be confirmed

    Best for: Heavy loads and home backup with expansion batteries

    Limitation: Weight and warranty are to be confirmed

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    3,072 Wh
    Rated output
    3,600 W
    Surge output
    7,200 W surge
    Weight
    To be confirmed
    Battery chemistry
    LFP
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    TT-30R AC output (3,600 W), Anderson DC port 378 W and car outlet 126 W (shared), USB-C 140 W
    Warranty
    To be confirmed
  • Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus

    Anker SOLIX · power station

    F3800 Plus

    • Capacity3,840 Wh
    • Output6,000 W
    • Weight136.7 lb

    Best for: Heavy 120/240 V loads

    Limitation: At 136.7 lb it stays in one place; 6,000 W is a combined 120/240 V total, with 120 V outlets at 2,400 W max

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    3,840 Wh
    Rated output
    6,000 W
    Surge output
    To be confirmed
    Weight
    136.7 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LFP
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    NEMA TT-30R, L14-30R and 5-20R (two groups of three), USB-A 12 W, USB-C 100 W, 12 V/10 A car
    Warranty
    5 years
  • Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus (Solar Generator 5000 Plus)

    Jackery · power station

    Explorer 5000 Plus (Solar Generator 5000 Plus)

    • Capacity5,040 Wh
    • Output7,200 W
    • Weight134.5 lb

    Best for: Heavy loads, including 120/240 V

    Limitation: At 134.5 lb it is not portable in practice

    All specs
    Type
    power station
    Capacity
    5,040 Wh
    Rated output
    7,200 W
    Surge output
    14,400 W surge
    Weight
    134.5 lb
    Battery chemistry
    LiFePO4
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    4 AC 120 V 20 A (NEMA 5-20), 1 AC NEMA L14-30R 120/240 V 30 A, 2 USB-C 100 W, 2 USB-A 18 W, 12 V/10 A car port
    Warranty
    5 years
  • Renogy E.Flex 200W N-Type Portable Solar Panel

    Renogy · solar panel

    E.Flex 200W N-Type Portable Solar Panel

    • CapacityTo be confirmed
    • Output200 W
    • Weight13.89 lb

    Best for: Portable solar charging for a power station

    Limitation: Connector type and warranty are not stated on the page

    All specs
    Type
    solar panel
    Capacity
    To be confirmed
    Rated output
    200 W
    Surge output
    To be confirmed
    Weight
    13.89 lb
    Battery chemistry
    To be confirmed
    Fuel
    To be confirmed
    Noise
    To be confirmed
    CO shutoff
    To be confirmed
    Runtime
    To be confirmed
    Ports
    Connector not stated
    Warranty
    To be confirmed

Frequently asked questions

What is a solar generator?
It is a battery with an inverter and outlets, charged by solar panels. Despite the name it has no engine, makes no exhaust and burns no fuel. Many are sold as a power station plus panels in one kit.
How many solar panels do I need for a solar generator?
Divide the watt-hours you use in a day by 300 for each 100 W of panel, or by 600 for each 200 W panel. This uses four hours of strong sun and about 75% efficiency, which is our planning rule, not a manufacturer figure. Clouds and shade lower the result.
Can a solar generator run a whole house?
Not for long. Units in our list hold between 288 Wh and 5,040 Wh, while a home battery is typically 10 to 15 kWh according to Aurora Solar. A solar generator suits a short list of must-run loads, such as a refrigerator, a router and some lights.
Is a solar generator better than a gas generator?
It depends on the job. A solar generator is silent and has no exhaust, but it stops when the battery is empty. A gas generator runs as long as you add fuel but must stay outdoors. Our solar vs gas generator comparison goes through both.

Sources

Found this useful? Share it.

Share this guide

More in Solar Generators & Panels